Were you involved in a reckless driving accident in Myrtle Beach? If the other driver was driving recklessly or you made a major mistake when driving, there are specific laws in Myrtle Beach to consider before you file a claim with your car insurance company.
South Carolina law defines reckless driving as willful and wanton disregard for other people’s safety and the safekeeping of their property when driving an automobile.
Below, we define reckless driving laws and provide examples of reckless driving. You will also learn the difference between reckless and negligent driving. Lastly, we cover the penalties for breaking South Carolina’s reckless driving laws.
Are you ready to find out all about these Myrtle Beach laws? Then, read on!
Defining Reckless Driving in South Carolina
To be considered reckless driving in South Carolina, the person who drove recklessly should have done so in a deliberate manner and did not restrain himself or herself from getting into an accident.
That means it goes beyond negligent driving and the driver seems to not care how their actions will impact others.
Myrtle Beach Reckless Driving Law Is a Criminal Offense
The reckless driving law in Myrtle Beach charges the offense as a criminal misdemeanor. It can lead to jail time, various fines, and a violation hit on your driving license. Essentially, one’s driving record loses six points due to the offense.
Furthermore, those who drove recklessly while under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs will see these penalties increase.
Reckless Driving Cases Against the Law
Typical examples of reckless driving cases include:
- Speeding at least 25 miles per hour over the speed limit
- Failing to stop when a police officer attempts to pull you over
- Not yielding the right of way
- Passing a slow-moving vehicle in an unsafe manner
The Difference Between Negligent and Reckless Driving
The most significant difference between reckless and negligent driving is that reckless drivers know they are in the wrong and don’t care about their behavior. For instance, a reckless driver may be intoxicated while driving and has received a DUI in the past.
A negligent driver, however, is not driving badly on purpose but has not taken much care to keep other drivers and pedestrians safe while operating a vehicle.
The Penalties for Breaking Reckless Driving Laws in South Carolina
In South Carolina, the misdemeanor criminal offense penalties for breaking reckless driving laws include the following.
- The offense ends up on your criminal record
- It cannot get deleted since it is a traffic offense
- The first offense carries up to 30 days in jail or a fine
- You lose six points on your driver’s license
- Your car insurance premiums are likely to increase
Further, a second conviction within a five-year time frame will lead you to have your driver’s license suspended for 90 days. Also, if you face a reckless driving conviction three times within three years will lead you to lose your driver’s license overall.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Reckless Driving in South Carolina
Check out the answers to some common questions about reckless driving consequences in South Carolina.
How long does a reckless driving charge stay on your record in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, a reckless driving charge classified as a misdemeanor charge stays on your criminal record for life.
How do you get a reckless driving ticket dismissed in South Carolina?
In some cases, South Carolina law does allow you to have driving tickets dismissed, even ones as severe as reckless driving, as long as you take a driver education course. You will need to get permission from the court, but it is the main way to get your driving ticket dismissed.
How long does reckless driving affect insurance in South Carolina?
Generally, reckless driving tickets impact your insurance premiums for as long as your driving record has a blemish. Usually, your driver’s license will lose points for two years once a reckless driving violation occurs. As such, your insurance premiums will increase for two years.
Now you know that reckless driving is different from negligent driving and what situations are considered reckless driving.
You will need to understand the reckless driving laws in South Carolina before you file a claim with your car insurance company.